all about prague

Basic Prague info

Arrival and Departure

Accommodation in Prague hotels, hostels, apartments.

What to see i Prague - Prague sights.

Prague Castle

Prague Lesser Town

Prague Jewish Quarter

Prague Old Town

Prague New Town

All attractions in Prague

Prague weather

Prague news


Rent a car

Prague sightseeing

Prague theaters

Prague museums


Music clubs

Prague concerts 2004 - Paul McCartney, Peter Gabriel, David Bowie ...

Internet cafes



Prague Spring International Music Festival

Prague floods

Foreign embassies

Ice hockey world championship Prague 2004

Pohorelec - a picturesque place in Prague Castle District

Pohorelec means “the Scene of Fire”. It is a small and quiet square in the Castle District in Prague, that burned out many times during its history. There are picturesque buildings around it and many important historical monuments are situated nearby: a gateway to the Strahov Monastery is located just next to it and the Loreta Shrine stands a short walk from Pohorelec. The Prague Castle is also accessible on foot.

Pohorelec – the Scene of Fire

Pohorelec was founded as a suburb of the Castle District in the 14 th century. It burned down during the Hussite Wars, then in the big fire of Prague in 1541 and once again during War of the Austrian Succession in 1742. This sad history gave the place its name.

St. John of Nepomuk statue

A sculptural group of St. John of Nepomuk stands in the centre of Pohorelec. It was probably made by J. A. Quittainer in 1752 and it was brought to Pohorelec from the Castle Square in 1846.

Palaces at Pohorelec

The Rococo Kucera Palace (No.114) in Pohorelec catches attention with its decorative facade. It is also sometimes called “At the Golden Vessel”. It used to be a Baroque palace, destroyed by fire in 1742, then it was rebuilt in the Rococo style. The palace has a monumental staircase decorated with sculptures. There is a banking institution in the palace nowadays.

The Slik Palace (No.111) with three wings used to be a residence of the aristocratic family Sliks of Holic. It has a Classicist front from 1840s.

The St. Elisabeth Hospital (No.155) was founded in 1664 in Baroque style by an abbot of the Strahov Monastery. The front of the building is unusual – it resembles a church. There is a staircase with a sculptural group of Calvary inside the building.

The late-Renaissance Trcka House (No.110) was a home of Czech artist Mikolas Ales between 1885 and 1886.

Copyright © cestovni agentura Martin Muller - Prague, 2000-2013